Homemade Pop Tarts!

GUYS.

love Pop Tarts. I lived for them as a child. I was never a big fan of those super-sugary cereals, like Cocoa Puffs or Fruit Loops or Trix, but I would have eaten Pop Tarts till each and every one of my teeth fell out. My parents rarely bought them, which probably saved them a lot in dental/child weight-loss expert expenses, but I’ve still been feeling a fake-fruit-pastry deficit in my life. Yes, I recognize that I’m an adult and I can buy what I want, but the rents did such a good job raising me that I still can’t bring myself to eat something so bad for me, despite its deliciousness.

Until now.

Earlier this week, Pinterest brought a recipe for homemade Pop Tarts into my life and I made them yesterday. Let me just say for the record that because of this picture:

 

which was offered by Bake Me More, I had pretty high expectations for these. They look like the store-bought ones, yet even more delicious, which was a feat I’d never dreamed possible. My own pop tarts looked like this picture:

 

and although I’m proud of them like a mother is proud of her ugly child, I can nevertheless attest that no, they are not really cute at all. Sigh.

But let me tell you, they taste uh. may. zing. And they’re super easy – all you do is make or buy pie crust, cut it into little rectangles, put a spoonful of jam or preserves on one of the rectangles, and then put another crust rectangle on top and crimp the edges. Bake them at 450 degrees Farenheit for about 8 minutes, and then after they’re cooled, drizzle a glaze of milk and powdered sugar over them. The glaze really makes them, in my opinion.

And that’s all I have to say. So, The End.

4 thoughts on “Homemade Pop Tarts!

  1. They WERE awesome! And the only difference between yours and that Pinterest pic is the silly storebought sprinkles they used. Hmmph. Cheap edible bling. I’m sure it added nothing but artificial color to the actual eating experience. I loved your poptarts.

Leave a Reply

